FREOVIEW – Fremantle's only daily

SUBIACO HISTORY INSPIRATION

Posted in Uncategorized by freoview on January 15, 2024

I used to go to Subiaco many times a week when I was a professional photographer, to get my slide films processed at Churchill Laboratories.

I often waited the two hours it took and wandered down Rokeby Road and Hay Street, had coffee at Brew Ha, bought Lotto tickets at the newsagency in the shopping centre, and books at Dymocks.

Today I went to look at how Subi celebrates it’s history on the planter boxes on the median strip all along Rokeby Road. It looks great!

And I envy Subi for the tree-lined shopping street. If only Fremantle had trees in the centre of the Cappuccino Strip and on both sides of High Street. It makes so much sense to create shade, and it enhances the streetscape.

Roel Loopers

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. luggerite said, on January 15, 2024 at 1:59 pm

    Well Freo does have those odd planter boxes they move randomly, but no idea why Freo plant simported species like Jacarandas and London Plane trees, both of which are well known for mess and allergies.

    Like


Comments are closed.