Freo's View

R U OK? ART AT NOTRE DAME UNIVERSITY

Posted in art, city of fremantle, education, mental health, notre dame university, Uncategorized by freoview on September 13, 2017

 

R U OK?

 

Fremantle Notre Dame University students came up with a creative idea to raise awareness for mental health and R U OK? DAY.

Students were handed small bags with paint in them to throw at a canvas, that will become an abstract painting depicting all the moods and nuances of life.

 

Roel Loopers

VOTE ROEL FOR CITY WARD!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Carl Payne said, on September 14, 2017 at 11:27 am

    Sure Roel, agreed.

  2. freoview said, on September 13, 2017 at 3:10 pm

    Yes I heard that one often when my ex had an art gallery in Claremont.

    When I had my first photo exhibition in 1990 in the Delaney Gallery in Perth the West critic David Bromfield compared my photos with abstract paintings, but then finished ” but at the end they are only photos” , as if somehow photography is not an art form.

    I don;t think the students believe they are creating serious art. It’s fun for a good cause.

    Roel

  3. Carl Payne said, on September 13, 2017 at 1:03 pm

    Good fun I guess, but it could also be seen as another way we devalue the work done by clever and creative “real” artists in the field of abstract art. You know, as overheard in the art gallery: “Oh that, my 5 year old niece could have done that – and in about 5 minutes!!!!” That sort of thing…………….Don’t mean to be a kill-joy, but…….


Comments are closed.

