Freo's View

NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR CITY WARD?

Posted in city of fremantle, community, election, Uncategorized by freoview on September 13, 2017

 

It hear that former Fremantle Mayor Peter Tagliaferri believes that I am not the right person to represent City Ward because I live in Beaconsfield.

Silly me thought Beacy was still part of the City of Fremantle and that Councillors are responsible for the entire city.

It is true I have lived in Beacy for just over two years, and before that I lived in White Gum Valley for two years, but prior to that I lived for over two years in one of the old Pilot’s Cottages next to the Roundhouse, and before that one year in Beacy again. To be fully transparent, I lived for 8 months in Forrest Street and four weeks in Hilton as well.

My Freo history began in 1991 when I separated from my partner of twenty years and bought a house in Bolton Place, just on the other side of the City Ward boundary, but sold that in 1995 when I travelled for eight months throughout Australia. On my return in early 1996 I rented a townhouse for 10 years at 5 Swanbourne Street (City Ward), and when the Croatian landlords wanted to renovate and sell I moved around the corner to Bellevue Terrace(City Ward) where I lived for over two years.

After a one year stint in Mount Claremont with my gorgeous Sri Lankan lover Indira I returned to Freo and lived in Forrest Street, then Beacy again, then came Captain’s Lane at Arthur Head, White Gum Valley and now back in Beacy.

The first thing I do every day is to drive onto the South Mole early in the morning and then I have coffee in one of the inner city cafes.

I walk the streets of Fremantle from the Roundhouse to the Fremantle Arts Centre, from the port to South Beach, and daily communicate with residents and business owners, hence my substantial awareness of what goes on in our city.

Ward parochialism is very strange to bring up for a former Mayor, but it must mean he has found nothing more substantial to attack me on.

 

Roel Loopers

VOTE ROEL FOR CITY WARD!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. freoview said, on September 14, 2017 at 11:39 am

    Thanks for your support Andrew!

    Roel

  2. Andrew J said, on September 14, 2017 at 11:37 am

    I have to say that I see Roel in and about City Ward many orders of magnitude more often than I see the current City Ward Councillors (or the Mayor) – and I don’t think either of them live in the Ward either. Think you would be a great Councillor.

  3. freoview said, on September 13, 2017 at 7:10 pm

    Same applies to me Robert. I’travel’ to City Ward every day to communicate with residents and business owners and return to Beacy for a night’s sleep. ; >)

    Roel

  4. Rob Fittock said, on September 13, 2017 at 6:19 pm

    Interesting Roel however Peter Tagliaferri lives in Beaconsfield, travels to Manjimup where he has a number of business interests in the region, stays in Manjimup or Bunbury while he is doing business then travels back to his home in Beaconsfield….just thought I would make sure you get the facts right

  5. freoview said, on September 13, 2017 at 10:06 am

    Yes I know, Sean and I am well-known in city ward, and elsewhere around Freo, which should be a positive for a councillor.

    ….and Tagliaferri lives in Manjimup and runs the hotel there. ; >)

    Roel

  6. Sean hefferon said, on September 13, 2017 at 8:46 am

    Hi Roel,
    Of course Councillors are responsible for the entire City. But only voted in by those in their Ward no?
    Anyway good luck with it
    Cheers
    Sean


Leave a Reply

