Freo's View

BORING NEW F(reo)ART

Posted in art, city of fremantle, Uncategorized by freoview on May 12, 2017

 

The new public artwork in the Fremantle High Street Mall is rather disappointing in my view.

My fine art photographer mate Brad and I were wondering this morning why the proportions are so wrong. Small colourful arty bits on the tops of colourless huge thick posts.

The dimensions seemed all wrong to us, no matter that the work is supposedly inspired by the Fremantle Doctor seabreeze and that the elements on top of the posts will be turning with the direction of the wind.

Why do the posts have to be so thick and why were they not also made colourful?

The interactive artwork will have some sound with it I was told, but even that won’t make up for the visual disappointment of it.

YEP, I know that there will be people disagreeing with me, and that is totally fine as beauty is in the eye of the beholder and we all have different tastes.

Roel Loopers

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. David. said, on May 12, 2017 at 11:05 pm

    shocker.

  2. Pete said, on May 12, 2017 at 11:56 am

    Yep ! Boring ! – and they interrupts the flow of the mall. My thoughts are that the money could have been better spent elsewhere. It just makes an ugly mall look uglier. Clear the whole bloody thing and start again ! !


Comments are closed.

