Freo's View

GENIUS MOVE TO FREMANTLE

Posted in culture, fremantle, immigration, lifestyle by freoview on March 13, 2017

Today is my personal Australia Day! Thirty-five years ago today on March 13, 1982 I landed in Australia with my then partner Brigitte to start our new life on the other side of the world, and what a journey it has been.

The decision to migrate to Australia was seen by many friends and colleagues in Germany as foolhardy and naïve, but how wrong they were.

There is no doubt that my Australian years have been the most challenging and often very difficult years of my life. I went through all the highs and all the lows, from a highly successful photography business to a financial disaster triggered by severe depressions, from beautiful houses to awful granny flats, and from great love affairs to a badly broken heart, but as the French say c’est la vie. Shit happens.

But overall it has been a wonderful adventure where I learned so much about myself and life, and at the end I came through it wiser, tougher, more considerate and more tolerant, so these are good gains and lessons.

Moving from Sydney to Perth in September 1985 was stroke of genius, and moving to Fremantle in the early 1990s was pure brilliance as I love living in our beautiful little port city.

Fremantle taught me so much about community engagement and passion and yesterday’s huge Labor election win shows that the enormous Roe 8 people power movement made a big difference and that politicians who ignore the people will be punished. There is an important message for the elected members of the City of Fremantle in that as well.

The good thing about integration in a new culture is that it does not come at the cost of losing one’s identity and culture and while I became an Australian citizen in 1985 much of me will always remain Dutch as the education I received and the values instilled in me in the Netherlands will be with me forever.

Respecting people and being compassionate was something my parents showed me daily, and that being generous and honest and standing up for people less fortunate are good things. They are beautiful values to have.

I love people and the Fremantle community is my family. They are the people I want to look after and support and while I have failed dismally on a few occasions I have always tried my best.

Fremantle has given me a deep sense of belonging and a purpose that is much more than just surviving and earning money. It has taught me that looking after the community one lives in and supporting positive change can make a real difference and that doing that is very rewarding.

I don’t have all that many years left in life but as long as I can do it I will try to help make Fremantle and even better place to live and love in.

Thank you to everyone who has been part of my Aussie life so far. It has been a mind-blowing journey!

Roel Loopers

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Trijnie said, on March 15, 2017 at 4:09 pm

    Mooi Roel.

  2. freoview said, on March 13, 2017 at 10:35 am

    Heaven and paradise, angels and virgins for others, but hell awaits me I was once told by a ‘good’ Christian. ; >)

    Roel

  3. Glen said, on March 13, 2017 at 9:04 am

    Good on you Roel. Life is definitely about the journey as in the end we all have the same destination 😉


Comments are closed.

