Freo's View

SPANISH ARMADA IN FREMANTLE

Posted in fremantle, navy by freoview on February 22, 2017

armada

 

The unusual sight of two Spanish navy ships in Fremantle port attracted a few people this afternoon.

The Dutchy in me always thinks of the Spanish Armada and remembers the Spanish occupation of the Netherlands a trillion years ago, so I blame my history teacher for the trauma. ; >)

I don’t know what WELCOME in Spanish is, but I hope to see a lot of the sailors at the Roundhouse on Thursday when I am on volunteer guide duty.

Roel Loopers

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sam said, on February 24, 2017 at 9:07 pm

    But both built by Spanish designer Navantia.

  2. Paula Amaral said, on February 23, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    Bienvenidos is what you’re looking for.

  3. freoview said, on February 23, 2017 at 6:00 am

    I’ve always been worried about a South Australian Armada as well. ; >)

    Thanks for the correction!

    Roel

  4. Robert H. said, on February 23, 2017 at 5:47 am

    Only the destroyer, SPS Cristobal Colon, is Spanish. The big flat-top is HMAS Adelaide.


Comments are closed.

