Freo's View

FREO CHILDREN’S PLAY AND READING

Posted in BOOKS, children, family, fremantle, reading by freoview on February 2, 2017

 

The well-established Moore&Moore cafe and the one-year-old Paper Bird children’s book shop in Fremantle’s Henry Street have combined their talents to create a Nature Play area in the courtyard of the gorgeous heritage Moores building.

The courtyard of the M&MN has always been very Freo and cosy but by linking it with the courtyard of the lovely bookshop is has become even more special, so parents check it out. Nice to have a safe playground away from traffic in the old inner city.

Very good to hear also that the sales of children’s books has increased by 15 per cent in the last year. I have always been an avid reader and love it when children read instead of sitting in front of the TV, X Box or the computer.

Reading inspired me to travel, made me aware of other cultures and gave me a great escape while increasing my common knowledge. It also made me interested in languages and writing. I wrote my very first poem the day John F Kennedy was shot.

Roel Loopers

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. freoview said, on February 3, 2017 at 5:41 am

    Yes time to catch up soon Robert.

    Roel

  2. Rob Fittock said, on February 2, 2017 at 6:15 pm

    you do get around Roel….a great little treasure you’ve found
    see you there for a coffee sometime


Comments are closed.

