Freo's View

FREO’S VIEW SEVENTH BIRTHDAY!

Posted in city of fremantle, community, fremantle, social media by freoview on October 18, 2016

It’s FREO’S VIEW seventh birthday today and I am pretty proud that my blog has become so popular in Fremantle.

The first two and a half years were hard and I published for only a handful of readers but now there are hundreds of followers and many regular readers, up to 10,000 a week!

In the last seven years I published 6,891 posts and thousands of photos promoting businesses, events, festivals, etc. and reporting on Council business.

It takes a lot of commitment to publish articles every day of the week and it requires me to be out and about in Freo daily and talk to a lot of people, and I rely on receiving information from the community about what goes on, what is planned and what they like and don’t like about our city.

I have published hundreds of comments, good and bad, as I tried to make Freo’s View a community forum. Some regular commenters decided to pull out when I asked for balance, fairness and no personal attacks, but I believe one can harshly criticise the City of Fremantle without name-calling.

I will continue to critically scrutinise Fremantle Council and the administration, but also give credit when credit is due. I will also keep fighting for good, beautiful and appropriate development and oppose ugly boring boxes.

Keep me in the loop on what goes on in Freo so that I can keep the community in the loop.

Thank you all for supporting Freo’s View. It’s a labour of love for which I do not charge a single cent.

Roel Loopers

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Paula Amaral said, on October 19, 2016 at 1:25 pm

    Congratulations Roel, your blog is a great service to the community!

  2. Henty said, on October 19, 2016 at 6:26 am

    Happy Birthday FV! Great to have your very insightful eyes and ears around our town mate, and every day of the year too.
    Drinks are on meat our next catch-up!

  3. Suzanne said, on October 19, 2016 at 12:56 am

    Thanks Roel.
    Excellent work.
    Mind blowing photographs.

  4. Rob Fittock said, on October 18, 2016 at 10:21 pm

    Onya Roel

  5. freoishome said, on October 18, 2016 at 5:13 pm

    Has it been that long that I have listening to shout, rave, laugh, cajole. Enjoyed your wonderful photography.

    7 years you say, the 7 year itch, should I be thinking about being unfaithful to you? Is divorce from freoview on the cards! I think not!

    Thanks, and all the best Roel!

    Paul

  6. Glen said, on October 18, 2016 at 1:35 pm

    Well done Roel!

  7. Dave Coggin said, on October 18, 2016 at 12:26 pm

    Congratulations Roel. Keep it up!

  8. Nigel said, on October 18, 2016 at 11:23 am

    Happy Birthday ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰. And a BIG thanks for your commitment to the community.


Comments are closed.

