Freo's View

GREAT ART BUT IS IT A PRINT?

Posted in art, city of fremantle, fremantle arts centre, western australia by freoview on September 23, 2016

 

I went to view the 41st Fremantle Arts Centre Print Award and highly recommend you go and see it on the long weekend. There are some outstanding prints in the award show and there is another good exhibition to look at as well.

I reported yesterday on WA art student Sam Bloor winning the $ 16,000 Little Creatures prize. The FAC brochure says it is a relief print but I can’t for the life of me see a print in this very good and creative work, so it will get some tongues wagging in the art scene no doubt.

The stunning large vinyl cut Our Place From Before Time by Teho Ropeyarn caught my attention and also the beautiful lino cut All That I am by Kira Rechichi.

The dark and brooding lithograph Yazidi refugees in northern Iraq fleeing ISIL advance by Locust Jones is very powerful.

There are also photographs in the show and two of them stood out for me. The very painterly Southside by Elaine Batton looks like and old oil painting, while Eva Fernandez has a beautiful portrait Isabel I La Catolica.

As I always say when I write an art review, don’t take my word for it. We all have different tastes and likes, so what I like might not suit your palette, so go and see the show.

Roel Loopers

Comments Off on GREAT ART BUT IS IT A PRINT?

