Freo's View

FLYING THE FLAG NEEDS RESPECT

Posted in australia, fremantle, hospitality, pubs, tourism, western australia by freoview on July 27, 2016

flag disgrace

 

The totally ripped Australian flag on top of the Sail&Anchor in Fremantle is not acceptable as it shows disrespect for our national flag. This surely did not happen over night, so management at the hotel needs to take more care of details such as this.

Surely the pub can afford to buy a  new flag now and then, and if not they should stop flying the flag as this one looks awful.

Roel Loopers

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Clayton Gunning said, on August 1, 2016 at 10:34 pm

    I stand corrected Mark. I made the stupid error of stereotyping, of trying to put a group of people into one category that clearly they don’t all belong too.

    Maybe Roel can post a new flag photo tomorrow? We lost sight of what most of us were unhappy with.

  2. mark said, on August 1, 2016 at 6:09 pm

    Too Funny Clayton, Bogans are the only ones who don’t remove their hats and/or sing the national anthem.
    That’s classic.
    there is a hell of a lot more than just Bogans who don’t do these things.

    quote “Unfortunately we’ll never get 100% as Bogans who can’t remove a cap or sing out during the playing of our national anthem have shown.”

    Roels response following yours was also very good. His site does give a board base of people to interact, possibly better its not face to face with some of the short fuses you see at public forums.

    Of course labels are always generalized but seriously how over sensitive can you be, I saw someone referred to as a conservative I have also been referred to as one, I don’t actually agree with the reported comments she said, but it certainly doesn’t worry me.

    I suppose the real question is did the flag get changed?

  3. freoview said, on August 1, 2016 at 10:17 am

    Let me say a few words about comments in general, and I have said it before. I expect that mature people can have a robust discussion without throwing insult at each other. There is no need for it and surely we can all respect that other people might have a different opinion and/or different political preferences from our own. That is how the world has been for ever and will be. People don’t like the same food, clothes, cars, houses, political parties, policies, etc.
    Debates should be about the topics I publish, not about the people who comment. I know some of the people who comment but don’t know many others.
    Everyone can have a say on Freo’s View as long as it is not racist or defamatory and I don’t care if you are left or right of politics because I encourage community debate.

    We live in a very good and peaceful country with people from all over the world and from all different cultures and religions. I believe that is great, so surely a local blog can be an outlet for all voices without people engaging in personal attacks or derogatory language.

    Roel

  4. Clayton Gunning said, on July 31, 2016 at 6:51 pm

    Jon, let me engage you in civilised discussion.

    Let me be clear, Jayne’s comments, that you clearly support, were out of order, They added nothing to the discussion. She expressed he political opinion when we were discussing the lack of respect for the flag by a Frementle business.

    Now let me take that comment and change one word, “Leftie” and change it to another group. Catholics, Muslims, Aboriginals or those against offshore detention? What about One Nation? Would the comment then be deemed inappropriate or still a generalisation? You suggest an attack has to be personal to be offensive. I was offended, I was pissed off, that Jayne’s would suggest that “Leftie’s” may be responsible for spreading the flag or that we all find it offensive along with everything else that represents part of “our” culture. I have friends who are “Lefties” who have served in the military without any personal conflict that effected the performance of their duty. I also have friends who are “Leftie’s” who have been to Olympic and Commonwealth Games, who have competed successfully (if you classify World Records an Medals as successful) and their politics didn’t effect their performance or thier ability to represent under the current Australian flag. I also have friends who are Concervatives yet support Australia becoming a republic, a new Australian flag, and constitution recognition for Indiginous Australians and believe it or not, Marriage Equality. He stereotyping was out of order.

    I am a “Leftie” yes. I have no problem showing the respect due to the Australian Flag and our National Anthem and neither do 99% of my comrades. If or when the flag and anthem are changed I will show it the same respect I do now for the new flag and anthem. 99% of my comrades will continue to show that flag and anthem due respect. Unfortunately we’ll never get 100% as bogans who can’t remove a cap or sing out during the playing of our national anthem have shown.

    Now you claim my language is vulgar. I beg to differ. “Piss off” is a very Australian colloquialism. It wasn’t the F or C word (that I never use) or any other that are truly offensive. There was no personal threat or attack. And you have the hide to link this language to violence in our country. You may live in a bubble but I dodn’t know how you get by through everyday life and you certainly should stay away from social media because it’s a feature of the medium whether you like it or not. It must be noted Freo View didn’t find the post so vulgar or threatening that it be edited or deleted.

    Jon you believe most of what you have read from me is dribble and quite amusing. You write these words that you don’t feel are insulting (because you’re not insulting or vulgar) and demand to be treated with some higher level of respect? We are not part of a mutual admiration society. I feel the same, most of what you write is shit but I read it so I can gauge other opinions from the comments. Don’t assume anyone reading your posts with balance will see and support your view. You come across as weak and insecure, the very person you think you see in me, a keyboard warrior and and your views do not stand scrutiny at all. I’m yet to read too many facts in any of your posts that can’t be easily challenged. I put my full name to everything I write, maybe time for you to do the same, I stand by my position, and have the guts to admit a mistake and retract what I say if I have erred.

  5. Jon said, on July 30, 2016 at 11:55 am

    Clearly I did read the comment Jayne left and and my comment was correct.

    Jayne made a generalization, she did not choose to personally attack anyone.
    Jayne did not lower herself to being vulgar.
    Nor did she use an intimating or threatening tone.

    You choose to attack her personally and swear at her, her comments and your are hardly the same.

    I also have to read your dribble Clayton, most is quite amusing.

    My views stand scrutiny quite well, please don’t confuse your opinion with facts, everyone is entitled to a point of view, it doesn’t make it a fact. I also don’t expect everyone to agree with me, but I’m capable of holding a civilized discussion with people from varying point of view with out being vulgar or threatening.
    Such acts are general signs of insecurity.

    Its clear you consider your opinion superior to others and your first course is to attack and abuse anyone who has a different opinion.

    I realize non of this will get thru.

    But anyone reading this with balance will see the difference.

    At least we both agree the flag should be treated with some respect.

  6. Clayton Gunning said, on July 30, 2016 at 6:46 am

    Jayne when you post something worthy of proper response I’ll be sure to give you/it the time and respect it deserves.

    You’re initial post didn’t deserve more that a few words. Apologies if you were offended.

  7. Clayton Gunning said, on July 30, 2016 at 6:18 am

    Jon did you actually read Jayne’s comments before chiming in with your usual conservative view? From your little snipe it appears you didn’t. It was OK for Jayne to take a snipe but not OK for me to have a go back? Why did you not question Jayne’s post? If you can add to the discussion do so or otherwise just say nothing.

    As for what people have to deal with…… I have to read your shit all too often but it’s OK because I don’t want to live in a censored society. I can read your views and know your views don’t stand fair scrutiny.

  8. Jon said, on July 29, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    Jayne you have to laugh

    Fairer Australia for who?

    It’s seems some can’t express an opinion without being vulgar, or insulting.

    It’s a clear sign of the mentality you are dealing with, no civilised discussion, just straight to personal attacks and vulgar language.

    No wonder violence is such an issue to struggle with in Australia

  9. Jayne said, on July 29, 2016 at 12:10 pm

    Clayton, responding to my political opinion with a personal attack? Seems you dont need my help reinforcing the Leftie stereotype.

  10. Mark said, on July 29, 2016 at 12:39 am

    Nice one Jayne

    Anyone thinking that changing a flag will bring it respect is kidding themselves, or has had to many of something.
    I can’t say I like any countries flag in particular but I have no issue respecting it for what it is.

    People who burn flags are just idiots, there only means of protest is to destroy something, changing a flag won’t change them, they are just a small % of losers ever country has.

    I suspect the pub forgot or its management is to lazy to care, either way those 2 issues aren’t a good sign for someone running a food and beverage outlet.

    Last time I saw a soccer match with Holland the crowd were in orange can’t recall seeing any orange in the Netherlands flag.
    All blacks yep no black in the NZ flag either, guess that whine is put to bed.
    All blacks most respected rugby team in the world you think any uk team feels safer, because it has a little of their flags in it.
    NZ All Blacks are respected because of ability, passion, sportsmanship, pride and they deliver. Not because of a flag they fly.
    They just had their vote on changing their flag and the voted to keep it.
    Pride comes from with in, if you don’t have don’t blame anyone else then who’s looking back in the mirror

    Seem to remember seeing Aussie flags at Anzac Day, Aussie day, sporting matches all over the world, seem to remember many a Aussie flag flight at motor bike GPs etc, when ever the wallabies roll out, cricket matches, God the list of times Aussie flags are brought out is endless, I guess some don’t get much or have selective vision.

    Our current flag is great has severed us well for decades all over the world is well known and respected, as it will for decades to come.

    If we can change the flag now then no reason in a couple of decades some other whiners will not want to change it, as they did not chose the last one. This sort of rhetoric will never end.

    Let’s hope we see the Aussie flag hauled high many times at the Olympics, certainly more than once, for sure they want a fairer games Hence the drug screening but you don’t get gold for showing up and whining you have to achieve and be better that day than everyone else.

  11. Ed said, on July 28, 2016 at 5:33 pm

    I’m a leftie and I have no problem with the flag. Go figure…

  12. freoview said, on July 28, 2016 at 4:34 pm

    It’s a debate that has been going on for tens of years but I doubt the flag will be changed before we become a republic.

    Roel

  13. Steve said, on July 28, 2016 at 3:13 pm

    While I don’t think that’s how the flag should be flown, my point is that maybe the reason it’s being left like that is because there is a lack of pride and respect for the Australian flag. You would never see an American or British flag (see: upper left corner of Australian flag) flown like that because there is great pride in both of those countries for their flags.

    You only ever see the Australian flag on one day of the year, and that is because it is a colonial flag bearing the flag of another nation on it. Having another country’s flag on yours, having another country’s leader on your money, and having another country’s leader as your head of state are all reflections of a country who hasn’t grown into itself yet.

    If Australia wants to be considered a leader on the world stage, it at the very minimum needs to have its own head of state and own flag. Otherwise it will always be seen as it is – a pawn of the British monarchy.

  14. Clayton Gunninh said, on July 28, 2016 at 10:36 am

    I was aware of this fact but took a concise response off the net.

    Green and gold are the colours of Australia’s national floral emblem – the golden wattle. Since the late 1800s green and gold have been popularly accepted as the national sporting colours, both locally and around the world. In 1984 green and gold were formally recognised as the national colours.

    What flag Australia flys is a completely different issue to what is the issue here and that is respect for the flag we have. Do you pay due respect to the flags of foreign countries?

  15. Clayton Gunning said, on July 28, 2016 at 10:30 am

    Piss off Jayne with your typical stereotyping of people who support a fairer Australia.

  16. Steve said, on July 28, 2016 at 8:26 am

    Why does the Australia Olympic team compete in different colours than their flag? Why wave a flag with another country’s flag on it that doesn’t have the same colours as the olympic colours?

    A second rate flag gets second rate pride.

  17. Mark said, on July 28, 2016 at 8:19 am

    Well said Roel

  18. Rob said, on July 28, 2016 at 5:41 am

    Well said Roel. I don’t think its a conspiracy, more like typical lazy management.

  19. Jayne said, on July 27, 2016 at 5:29 pm

    Maybe the Lefties shredded it. After all they now find the Australian flag offensive, along with everything else that represents part of our culture. How do they cope with the Olympics, all that flag waving must drive them crazy, let alone medals given for merit instead of participation :->

  20. freoview said, on July 27, 2016 at 2:18 pm

    That might well be the case Steve, but as long as we have this one it deserves to be treated with respect and not an eyesore.

    Roel

  21. Steve said, on July 27, 2016 at 2:11 pm

    Australia as a whole needs a new flag.

  22. Clayton Gunning said, on July 27, 2016 at 1:43 pm

    Spot on Roel. I hope someone from the Sail & Anchor follows your blog.


Comments are closed.

