FREOVIEW – Fremantle's only daily

FREMANTLE RELAXES PARKING

Posted in fremantle by freoview on October 9, 2012

Parking  is probably Fremantle‘s favourite whinge, just ahead of bureaucratic red tape and dirty streets, so it is good to see the Strategic Planning Committee will address parking on Wednesday evening with suggestions to have one hour free parking in the city. That is a good idea as many people complain that just to have a quiet coffee will add an hour of parking fees in the inner city to the already expensive coffee.

A proposal by coucillor Rachel Pemberton to cap night time parking to four dollars is also very good as it is one of the main whines from visitors who come for a night out and have to go back to the parking meters to extend the time they can stay. Unlimited night parking for only $ 4.00 seems pretty good to me.

Roel Loopers

P.S. You can’t win them all. While some people protest I whinge too much and am too negative on council, I was told last eve I am “sucking up” to councilor Pemberton. Not sure Rachel would agree with that sentiment as she has been on the receiving end of my criticism. I  just call it as I see it and everyone is fair game without fear or favour.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. freoview said, on October 9, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    It’s a fair point Mark

    Like

  2. Colin Nichol said, on October 9, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    I believe the proposals do not go far enough – it’s crunch time.

    Like

  3. Mark Randell said, on October 9, 2012 at 11:05 am

    The question I have is: “What happened to sustainability?” I thought the idea was to get cars OUT of Freo – in the interests of sustainability, and a pedestrian-oriented city… I thought the idea was to seek out “regional” places to put cars, bus people into Freo, and let them walk (and eat cake :). We have a Mayor schooled in/skilled in things to do with sustainability — I think he needs to tell us what the plan is…. …:)

    Like


Comments are closed.