Freo's View

NO LIES FROM FREO MAYOR

Posted in fremantle by freoview on May 5, 2012

I just had a heated conversation with Fremantle Mayor Brad Pettitt, who is very upset I wrote on this blog that he had lied about the Planning Scheme Amendment 49 area not being in a heritage part of Fremantle. Brad is adamant that he did not lie or try to be dishonest about this, but that it is his belief, and that of the City’s planning staff and the City’s heritage architect that PSA 49 is in a non heritage part of the city.

In light of that I am obviously totally happy to appologise to the Mayor as I did not intend to insult or offend him!

However, Brad and I disagree on this, as it is my belief PSA 49 does affect significant heritage buildings in the inner city, hence I qualify it as a heritage area. There is not much we can do about our disagreement on this, but I unreservedly accept that this is what Brad believes in and that he did not lie.

I hope we can move on from this and resurrect the cordial and respectful relationship we have had.

On the comment on this blog that the Mayor is not a full time one, I have to disagree, as Brad is around whenever I am in town. Many residents of Fremantle have mentioned to me that he is one of the most accessible mayors the City has ever had, and I have never found it difficult to communicate with him, as he will always respond to emails and calls.

No doubt Brad and I will disagree on quite a few things in the future, but as the elected leader of our city he deserves our courtesy. He will get that from me, together with any criticism, if I think he and council get things wrong.

Roel Loopers

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. carmel callaghan said, on May 5, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    Brad is an excellent mayor

  2. Brad Pettitt said, on May 5, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    thanks Roel
    That is very good of you. Looking for working together on Freo’s future in a robust but respectful manner
    cheers, Brad

  3. Simon Cowling said, on May 5, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    I think if all you’ve had so far is a heated conversation with Petit you’ve got off very lightly. I was astonished when you called him a liar – whether you think so or not, your blog is a public forum and you cannot get away with slandering people. Especially given the fact that he is not a liar – certainly not technically as obviously that area of Fremantle isn’t classed as heritage. Tread carefully mate…..

    • freoview said, on May 6, 2012 at 5:39 am

      Although the city wants to change the boundaries, the area is still part of the west end heritage precinct, or whatever it’s called, as far as I am aware

  4. Brad Pettitt said, on May 7, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    Roel. You are partly correct. Parts of it are in the West End Conservation Area but most of it is outside – namely east of Queen Street. We are looking at these boundaries as part of the West End Working Group as they do not have unanimous agreement in their current form and in my view the West End has clearer boundaries. Hope this helps. Cheers, Brad


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 945 other followers

